Trails to the Past

North Dakota

Billings County




Trails to the Past

Trails to the Past of North Dakota is excepting any donations of genealogy materials that you may have such as marriage announcements, news articles, old obituaries, births, (you do not need the birth certificate) just the information, and biographies.  If you have any of these items please contact me Marie Miller the North Dakota State Administrator.

The Territorial legislature authorized Billings County in 1879, naming it for Northern Pacific Railway president Frederick H. Billings. It was organized seven years later, on May 4, 1886, at a meeting in Medora. The county's area was later reduced by erecting new counties: Golden Valley County in 1912 and Slope County in 1915.  Medora is the county seat.
The only city of Billings County is Medora.  Unincorporated communites are those of Fairfield, Borham, Fryburg, Scoria Point Corner, Six Mile Corner, and Sully Springs.



The county courthouse in Medora 

On Line Data




Adjacent Counties

McKenzie County (north)
Dunn County (northeast)
Stark County (east)
Slope County (south)
Golden Valley County (west)


Webspace has been generously provided by
Genealogy Village and Access Genealogy Thank You!

The information on Trails to the Past Copyright   may be used in personal family history research, with source citation. The pages in entirety may not be duplicated for publication in any fashion without the permission of the owner. Commercial use of any material on this site is not permitted.  Please respect the wishes of those who have contributed their time and efforts to make this free site possible.~Thank you!