Trails to the Past

Bowman County North Dakota

Trails to the Past of North Dakota is excepting any donations of genealogy materials that you may have such as marriage announcements, news articles, old obituaries, births, (you do not need the birth certificate) just the information, and biographies.  If you have any of these items please contact me Marie Miller the North Dakota State Administrator.


Bowman County was created by the 1883 Dakota Territory legislature but eliminated in 1903 due to a lack of settlement. The county was then reestablished in 1907 by a proclamation by Governor John Burke. The name comes from Edward M. Bowman, member of the territorial House of Representatives during the 1883 session. The county government was first organized on July 5, 1907; Bowman has always been the county seat.  The cities of Bowman County are Bowman, Gascoyne, Rhame, and Scranton.  The townships are the following, Adelaide, Amor, Bowman, Boyesen, Buena Vista, Fischbein, Gascoyne, Gem, Goldfield, Grainbelt, Grand River, Haley, Ladd, Langberg, Marion, Minnehaha, Nebo, Rhame, Scranton, Star, Stillwater, Sunny Slope, Talbot, and Whiting.  The township of Griffin is now a ghost town.  At one time there was a post office and general store there.  It has now vanished. 


1885 Census of Dakota Territory

Page 1

Page 2

Surrounding Counties of Bowman County

Slope County

Adams County

Fallon County Montana

Harding County, South Dakota


Trails to the Past

North Dakota Trails to the Past


Webspace has been generously provided by
Genealogy Village and Access Genealogy Thank You!

The information on Trails to the Past Copyright   may be used in personal family history research, with source citation. The pages in entirety may not be duplicated for publication in any fashion without the permission of the owner. Commercial use of any material on this site is not permitted.  Please respect the wishes of those who have contributed their time and efforts to make this free site possible.~Thank you!