Trails to the Past

North Dakota

Logan County



Trails to the Past of North Dakota is excepting any donations of genealogy materials that you may have such as marriage announcements, news articles, old obituaries, births, (you do not need the birth certificate) just the information, and biographies.  If you have any of these items please contact me Marie Miller the North Dakota State Administrator.

Logan County was created by the 1872-1873 territorial legislature and named for John A. Logan (1826-1886), a Civil War general and United States Senator from Illinois. It was organized on September 1, 1884. Napoleon was the county seat from 1884 to 1899. King became the county seat briefly in 1899 before Napoleon once again was given that title.

The cities of Logan County are Fredonia, Gackle, Lehr, and Napoleon.  The Townships are those of Bryant, Finn, Glendale, Gutschmidt, Haat, Janke, Red Lake, Sealy, and Starkey.  Townships that are no longer in existence are those of Dixon and Kroeber.  Unorganized Territores were those of Dixon, East Logan and West Logan.

On Line Data



Adjacent Counties

Stutsman County (northeast)
LaMoure County (east)
McIntosh County (south)
Emmons County (west)
Kidder County (northwest)

Webspace has been generously provided by
Genealogy Village and Access Genealogy Thank You!

The information on Trails to the Past Copyright    may be used in personal family history research, with source citation. The pages in entirety may not be duplicated for publication in any fashion without the permission of the owner. Commercial use of any material on this site is not permitted.  Please respect the wishes of those who have contributed their time and efforts to make this free site possible.~Thank you!