Trails to the Past

North Dakota

Pierce County




Trails to the Past of North Dakota is excepting any donations of genealogy materials that you may have such as marriage announcements, news articles, old obituaries, births, (you do not need the birth certificate) just the information, and biographies.  If you have any of these items please contact me Marie Miller the North Dakota State Administrator.

Pierce County was created by the 1887 territorial legislature and named for Gilbert Ashville Pierce, governor of Dakota Territory from 1884 to 1886 and a representative of North Dakota in the United States Senate from 1889 to 1891. The county government was first organized on April 6, 1889; Rugby has always been the county seat.  The cities are those of Balta, Rugby and Wolford.


Townships of Pierce County

    Antelope Lake
    Reno Valley
    Rush Lake


On Line Data

Adjacent Counties

Rolette County (north)
Towner County (northeast)
Benson County (east)
Wells County (southeast)
Sheridan County (southwest)
McHenry County (west)
Bottineau County (northwest)

Webspace has been generously provided by
Genealogy Village and Access Genealogy Thank You!

The information on Trails to the Past Copyright    may be used in personal family history research, with source citation. The pages in entirety may not be duplicated for publication in any fashion without the permission of the owner. Commercial use of any material on this site is not permitted.  Please respect the wishes of those who have contributed their time and efforts to make this free site possible.~Thank you!