Trails to the Past

North Dakota

Rolette County




Trails to the Past of North Dakota is excepting any donations of genealogy materials that you may have such as marriage announcements, news articles, old obituaries, births, (you do not need the birth certificate) just the information, and biographies.  If you have any of these items please contact me Marie Miller the North Dakota State Administrator.

Rolla is the county seat of Rolette County.   The International Peace Garden is located in the northwest corner of the county along the border with Canada.

The county was created by the 1872-1873 territorial legislature and named for Joseph Rolette, Jr., a fur trader and politician from Pembina. The county government was first organized on October 14, 1884. Before becoming Rolla, the county seat was Dunseith from 1884 to 1885 and St. John from 1885 to 1889.

The Cities of Rolette County are Dunseith, Mylo, Rolette, Rolla, and St. John.  Census designated places are Belcourt, the largest community in the county and is operated by the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians rather than organized under state law. Other places are those of East Dunseith and Shell Valley.  The townships are Baxter, Belcourt, Holmes, Kohlmeier, Maryville, San Haven, Shell Valley, and South Valley.  Other communities are Agate and Carpenter.



On Line Data



Adjacent Counties and rural municipalities

Morton, Manitoba (north)
Turtle Mountain, Manitoba (north)
Towner County (east)
Pierce County (south)
Bottineau County (west)

Webspace has been generously provided by
Genealogy Village and Access Genealogy Thank You!

The information on Trails to the Past Copyright    may be used in personal family history research, with source citation. The pages in entirety may not be duplicated for publication in any fashion without the permission of the owner. Commercial use of any material on this site is not permitted.  Please respect the wishes of those who have contributed their time and efforts to make this free site possible.~Thank you!