Trails to the Past

North Dakota

Souix County





Trails to the Past

Trails to the Past of North Dakota is excepting any donations of genealogy materials that you may have such as marriage announcements, news articles, old obituaries, births, (you do not need the birth certificate) just the information, and biographies.  If you have any of these items please contact me Marie Miller the North Dakota State Administrator.

Souix County lies entirely within the Standing Rock Indian Reservation, forming the northernmost 30 percent of the reservation. (The balance of the reservation is in South Dakota). It is the only county in North Dakota that is entirely within an Indian reservation.  The county was created by proclamation of Governor Louis B. Hanna on September 3, 1914 and named after the Native Americans who live on the reservation. The county government was first organized on September 12, 1914; Fort Yates has always been the county seat.

The cities of Souix County are those of Fort Yates, Selfridge, and Solen.  Census designated places are that of Cannon Ball.  The only township is that of Menz


On Line Data


Adjacent Counties

Morton County (north)
Emmons County (east)
Corson County, South Dakota (south)
Adams County (west)
Grant County (northwest)

Webspace has been generously provided by
Genealogy Village and Access Genealogy Thank You!

The information on Trails to the Past Copyright    may be used in personal family history research, with source citation. The pages in entirety may not be duplicated for publication in any fashion without the permission of the owner. Commercial use of any material on this site is not permitted.  Please respect the wishes of those who have contributed their time and efforts to make this free site possible.~Thank you!