Trails to the Past

North Dakota

Morton County




Trails to the Past of North Dakota is excepting any donations of genealogy materials that you may have such as marriage announcements, news articles, old obituaries, births, (you do not need the birth certificate) just the information, and biographies.  If you have any of these items please contact me Marie Miller the North Dakota State Administrator

The county was created by the 1872-1873 territorial legislature and named for Oliver Hazard Perry Throck Morton (1823-1877), governor of Indiana during the American Civil War and later a United States Senator. It was organized on March 23, 1878, but the action of the 1878 legislature in attaching the eastern portion to Burleigh County effectively nullified this action. The county was reorganized on February 18, 1881, after the detached portion had been returned to Morton County by the 1881 legislature. Mandan has always been county seat, though during a period from 1878 to 1879, Mandan, and thus also the county seat, was known as Lincoln.

The Cities of Morton County are as follows:  Almont, Flasher, Glen Ullin, Hebron, Mandan, and New Salem.  Unincorporated communities are those of Huff, St. Anthony, and Sims.  The townships are those of Breien, Captain's Landing, Fort Rice, and Huff.

On Line Data
Fort Rice






Adjacent Counties

Oliver County (north)
Burleigh County (northeast)
Emmons County (east)
Sioux County (southeast)
Grant County (south)
Stark County (west)
Mercer County (northwest)


Webspace has been generously provided by
Genealogy Village and Access Genealogy Thank You!

The information on Trails to the Past Copyright    may be used in personal family history research, with source citation. The pages in entirety may not be duplicated for publication in any fashion without the permission of the owner. Commercial use of any material on this site is not permitted.  Please respect the wishes of those who have contributed their time and efforts to make this free site possible.~Thank you!